April Snow (2005)

This movie would be considered one of my first glimpses into Bae’s work. (Yeah I know I know..) I have not seen any of his works as I had missed the Hallyu “Korean Wave” that was so-called brought by him into Asia back in 2002-03 with Winter Sonata. Well, unexpectedly I was not in Asia during that time.

In-soo played by Bae Yong Joon and Seo-young played by Son Ye-Jin happened to meet in a hospital after their respective partners are involved in a car accident. Yes both are married, and this coincidence led them to discover that their spouses had been having an affair and so they began one of their own.

Part of the reason that I picked this show was because of Son Ye-Jin, as I have always liked her acting. And no regrets with this show because I am pleasantly surprised by it. There was not much dialogue in this movie, very quiet, powerful imagery, intense emotions between the two leads and with an abrupt ending, it totally caught me off-guard. The ending was a piece of dialogue between the two leads, and this dialogue mirrored in opposite how they had started their love affair with similar dialogue. My gut feeling is that they got back together after seeing snow fall in April.

There is a very good analysis of this movie’s ending found here: http://asianfanatics.net/forum/topic/85991-april-snow-2005/page__st__200

Enjoy!

Leave a comment