Call Me By Fire (2021)

Call Me By Fire <披荆斩棘的哥哥> is a reality variety show by MangoTV, streaming every Thursday and Friday 12pm. There are 33 celebrities coming from all walks of talent, such as actors, singers, dancers, rock bands, song writers etc.

Its week-one (first aired 12 Aug 2021) is mostly introduction of each celebrity as they are pre-grouped and then to perform a song each followed by a group performance together. And 1000 audience will cast votes and every group will have a celebrity stand out (winning 100 votes), thereafter every audience gets 3 votes to give to who they like. Below is the chart from week 1 on who gets the most votes:

Week 1 Ranking (after first performance)
  • First: Lin ZhiXuan
  • Second: Chen XiaoChun
  • Third: GAI (Zhou Yan)
  • Fourth: Beyond’s Huang GuanZhong
  • Fifth: Jerry Yan

Note: Tenth place is actually taken out quietly because Huo Zun got into a scandal just before the show aired.

There is a CP that came out of this variety show or stood out for me and that is Jerry Yan and Zhang Yunlong:

Their arrival – first interaction between Jerry Yan and Zhang Yunlong

ZYL: When I was interviewed, they asked me who do I want to make friends with, and I said you.
JY: Really, thank you.

Their group performance interaction

For its second week, it’s mostly prep for the second concert, so nothing much there. There are some cute interactions from my new CP which if I have the time, I will post the pics here.

This week we are in its third week where we welcome the second major performance from 8 groups, as well as, it’s also an elimination round. The 2 groups that performed the worse, might have members leaving. I’m still watching so I do not know who yet. (Might update laters)

Leave a comment