My Roommate is a Gumiho (2021)

Saw the promo clips on tvN IG and good comments about My Roommate is a Gumiho and decided to watch it on a whim since it has been a while I watched a Kdrama.

Starring Jang Ki-yong , Lee Hye-ri, Bae In-hyuk, Kang Han-na and Kim Do-wan, the drama was on tvN from May 26 to July 15, 2021, but I am watching on iQiyi.

A gumiho is a nine-tailed fox, a mythical creature in the folktales of Korea that has magical powers depending on the story. There are so many dramas based on this mythical creature but I have seldom cared to watch it, thus this drama is my first Gumiho.

Jang Ki-yong is the 999yo gumiho Shin Woo-yeo who has one year left to turn himself into human, Hyeri is the college student Lee Dam who accidentally swallowed Shin’s fox pearl when they bumped into each other. Because of this, both are forced to live together as roommates so that Shin can make sure that his fox pearl is safe. And so they started living together, both of them making up rules as the days go by.

The second male lead Sun Woo played by Bae In-Hyuk actually has my sympathy and I really liked how he changed for her, or maybe I just like him – just like how I was rooting for Ryu Jun-yeol in Reply 1988.

Given that Shin has a deadline to meet, Lee Dam was actually much more anxious than him, she consulted the mountain spirit (cameo by Go Kyung-pyo, who was also part of the Reply 1988 cast) in order to help Shin, and the answer was humanity. Ah, a difficult one. I’ll not spoil the ending here.

Speaking of cameos, there are tons of it in this drama, but I especially liked Jung So-min’s cameo as Seo-hwa who was Shin’s first love many years ago.

Leave a comment