Alchemy Of Souls (2022)

It’s the last weekend of episodes for Alchemy Of Souls and coming at the right time too, I’m ready to marathon the last 4 episodes and finish this drama that I started in early July, just a little before Love Like The Galaxy took over all my available free time.

Alchemy Of Souls production team stopped screening for a week two weeks back, quoting the need to focus on getting the last 4 episodes in good shape, and I am hoping it does not disappoint.

Starring Jung So-min and Lee Jae-wook in the lead roles, they are the only two faces I can recognise in the entire drama, as for the rest, all are new to me. This shows how little I have been watching K-dramas for the past two years 😦

Nak-su (starring Jung So-min) is an assassin who was chased for her life, and before she was killed, she pulled a last spell of switching her soul to another body. Nak-su ended up in the body of Mu-deok who is weak, thus Nak-su is not able to use any of her formidable skills and spells. And then she meets Jang Uk (starring Lee Jae-wook) who comes from the noble family of Jang with a birth secret where everyone is guessing the details. Mu-deok, by chance, becomes Jang Uk’s servant and with her knowledge, she becomes Jang Uk’s teacher and helped him to become a mage. Along the encounters they faced together, they fell in love but Mu-deok is a soul switcher and her fate is unknown.

I am clueless how this drama is going to wrap up as I’ve spent a good 16 episodes hoping that Mu-deok and Jang Uk would be together but we have this huge unknown about her being a soul switcher and would eventually turned rogue (like a bad soul). On top of that, the Alchemy production team has just announced Season 2 – apparently another 10 episodes in December where Jung So-min is not part of the cast!

For the first time, no spoilers for me as I have not browsed through much social media for a while. 🙂 Hoping the best for Mu-deoggi.

Leave a comment